Home News Lagos Reaffirms Ban On Okada In 10 Councils

Lagos Reaffirms Ban On Okada In 10 Councils

Lagos Reaffirms Ban On Okada In 10 Councils

The Lagos State Government has stressed that the ban on activities of motorcycle operations in 10 Local Governments, LGs, and 15 Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs, of the state remain effective.

Commissioner for Transportation, Dr Frederic Oladeinde, in a statement on Wednesday, stated that there has been peace and improvement in security in areas where the activities of Okada operations have been halted, restating that the security agencies are on the alert to continue to enforce the ban without any compromise.

Oladeinde explained that the state government have noticed the gradual return of some recalcitrant operators of Okada in some restricted areas which would not be condoned by the security formation, hence, the need for continuous reiteration that the state will not rescind its decision of the ban.

While general public were being enjoined to comply with the law on the ban of Okada, the commissoner reiterated that both the rider and passenger are liable to three years imprisonment if apprehended and face prosecution.

READ ALSO:   Man R*pes 6-Year-Old Daughter In Lagos, Blames Wife For Denying Him S3x

He added that motorcycle impounded will be crushed in the public view, in line with the provision of Section 46, sub-section 1,2, and 3 of the Lagos State Transport Reform Law of 2018.

Oladeinde, therefore, urged both rider and passenger to move away from the fixed mindset of seeing operation of Okada as a means of commuting, adding that the ban will eventually take effect in all the remaining LGAs and LCDAs not yet affected.

According to him, “statistics have shown that accident rates in the areas where activities of Okada riders have been put on hold has decreased by 76 per cent, highlighting that the state government has ban the operations of Okada in 10 out of the 20 LGAs in the state which include: Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Mushin, Apapa, Ikeja, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere and Eti-Osa.”

READ ALSO:   Lagos diploma holder filmed jumping into lagoon

In addition, the Local Council Development Areas (LCDAS) under the affected LGAs are; Apapa Iganmu, Ojodu, Onigbongbo, Lagos Island West, Lagos Island East, Yaba, and Coker Aguda.

Others are; Itire-Ikate, Eti-Osa East, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, Ikoyi-Obalende, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga and Odi-Olowo.

Oladeinde stated: “The state government through this statement reaffirmed that more sustainable alternatives are being provided for the motoring publics with the ramping up of the mass transit Blue and Red Lines Rail passengers operation which will commence text running by the end of this year 2022.”

Follow Us on Facebook – @LadunLiadi; Instagram – @LadunLiadi; Twitter – @LadunLiadi; Youtube – @LadunLiadiTV for updates



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here