Home Politics Six LP lawmakers DUMP party for PDP

Six LP lawmakers DUMP party for PDP

Six LP lawmakers DUMP party for PDP

Six members of the Enugu State House of Assembly elected under the platform of the Labour Party, LP, have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP

Six LP lawmakers DUMP party for PDP
Six LP lawmakers DUMP party for PDP

They announced their defection during the Assembly’s plenary on Thursday.

According to the defectors, their defection is as a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the labour party at the national level and across all the state chapters.”

They claimed that, “regrettably, the party has evolved into state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

READ ALSO:   PDP, LP demand immediate answers on Tinubu’s France trip

“The Labour party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas have regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.”

They cited the cases of Abure and Apapa factions, as well as the national treasurer and their parent body, NLC as some of the divisions within the party.

They expressed hope that the PDP will give them the platform to continue to serve the interests of their people and thanked the leadership of Labour Party for their supports.

The defectors included the Chief Whip of the House and member representing Igboeze North I, Hon. Ejike Eze; the leader of the House and member representing Enugu North, Hon. Johnson Ugwu and the member representing Enugu South Rural, Hon. Princess Ugwu.

READ ALSO:   44-Year-Old Jandor WINS Lagos PDP Governorship Ticket

Others are: member representing Nsukka East, Hon. Pius Ezeugwu, member representing Igbo-Etiti West, Hon. Amuka Williams and member representing Oji River, Hon Osita Eze.

The motion for their defection to be accepted was moved by Rt. Hon. Iloabuchi Aniagu and was seconded by Rt. Hon. Jane Eneh.

Follow Us on Facebook – @LadunLiadi; Instagram – @LadunLiadi; Twitter – @LadunLiadi; Youtube – @LadunLiadiTV for updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here